The Open 2022: final round updates from St Andrews – live!

Read Time:2 Minute, 9 Second

The Guardian

Key events:

Is this the day? Is this the day when Rory McIlroy ends his eight-year wait for a fifth major by joining the pantheon of greats to have won an Open Championship at St Andrews? The main threat to McIlroy’s bid to join Jack, Seve, Sir Nick and Tiger is playing partner Viktor Hovland. The two traded magnificent 66s when in tandem yesterday, those six under rounds pulling them four clear of the stuttering halfway leader Cameron Smith and American rookie Cameron Young. World no 1 Scottie Scheffler lurks five back alongside Si Woo Kim but if McIlroy and Hovland start making birdies, the chasing pack may be too far adrift to catch them. A hugely significant day in the Open’s 150-year history awaits. Thanks for joining us for today’s final round: always one of the great days in sport.

The leaderboard going into round four

-16: McIlroy, Hovland
-12: Young, Smith
-11: SW Kim, Scheffler
-10: D Johnson
-9: Fleetwood, Fitzpatrick, Scott
-8: Spieth, Cantlay

The tee times: all BST, (a) denotes amateur

7.20am Sam Bairstow (a)
7.30am Wyndham Clark, Jamie Rutherford
7.40am David Law, Hideki Matsuyama
7.50am Sungjae Im, Sam Burns
8.00am Adria Arnaus, Garrick Higgo
8.10am Laurie Canter, Patrick Reed
8.25am Joaquin Niemann, Cameron Tringale
8.35am Jordan Smith, Aaron Jarvis (a)
8.45am Danny Willett, Barclay Brown (a)
8.55am Robert Dinwiddie, Sebastian Munoz
9.05am Yuto Katsuragawa, Lars Van Meijel
9.15am Jason Kokrak, Kurt Kitayama
9.30am Marcus Amritage, Justin Thomas
9.40am Jason Scrivener, Paul Casey
9.50am Tony Finau, Justin De Los Santos
10.00am Thriston Lawrence, Thomas Detry
10.10am Corey Conners, Sergio Garcia
10.20am Adrian Meronk, John Parry
10.40am Robert MacIntyre, Talor Gooch
10.50am Sadom Kaewkanjana, Abraham Ancer
11.00am David Carey, Lee Westwood
11.10am Harold Varner III, Joo-Hyung Kim
11.20am Brad Kennedy, Filippo Celli (a)
11.30am Billy Horschel, Chris Kirk
11.45am Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Richard Mansell
11.55am Sahith Theegala, Min Woo Lee
12.05pm Xander Schauffele, Lucas Herbert
12.15pm Victor Perez, Jon Rahm
12.25pm Will Zalatoris, Nicolai Hojgaard
12.35pm Anthony Quayle, Ian Poulter
12.55pm Aaron Wise, Dean Burmester
1.05pm Russel Henley, Dyland Frittelli
1.15pm Francesco Molinari, Bryson DeChambeau
1.25pm Tyrrell Hatton, Trey Mullinax
1.35pm Brian Harman, Shane Lowry
1.45pm Kevin Kisner, Thomas Pieters
2.00pm Jordan Spieth, Patrick Cantlay
2.10pm Matt Fitzpatrick, Adam Scott
2.20pm Dustin Johnson, Tommy Fleetwood
2.30pm Si Woo Kim, Scottie Scheffler
2.40pm Cameron Young, Cameron Smith
2.50pm Rory McIlroy, Viktor Hovland

July 17, 2022 at 05:24PM David Tindall (now) and Matt Cooper (at St Andrews)

0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Youth movement: a new generation of dance talent comes of age
Next post Ukrainian villagers flee Russian-occupied Kherson on foot, bike and wheelchair